Several States Continue to Distribute Stimulus Checks and Tax Refunds.


A number of industries were devastated by the COVID-19 pandemic, and many people experienced unemployment and other financial hardships. During the pandemic, the federal government provided assistance in the form of three stimulus checks. Despite rumors, there will not be a fourth stimulus check. Nonetheless, some states are distributing more stimulus funds.

California, Florida, Indiana, Delaware, Colorado, New York, and Maine are the states that will provide some form of a fourth stimulus check in 2022. In contrast to the first three stimulus checks, however, these will not be direct universal payments. Here are the specifics on these states and how to determine if you are eligible for an additional stimulus check.


Stimulus Check


In 2022, California may offer additional tax rebates.

Governor Gavin Newsom has proposed $286 million for the California state budget for 2022. Golden State Stimulus (GSS) payments were already made to those who filed their taxes by October 15, 2021, and earned less than $75,000 annually.

The governor of Florida, Ron DeSantis, wants to reward teachers with additional pay and a higher minimum wage.

The next stimulus in Florida targets educators.

Approximately 177,000 teachers and principals in the state of Florida will receive bonuses of up to $1,000. Under state guidelines, substitute teachers are ineligible, as are counselors and media specialists. Additionally, Governor DeSantis is attempting to increase the minimum teacher salary from $40,000 to $47,500.

Indiana offers an additional tax refund.

According to Marca, Indiana residents who filed their taxes before January 3, 2022 are eligible for a $125 tax refund. This amounts to $125 per individual, so married couples filing jointly would receive $250. This $3.9 billion surplus is expected to benefit approximately 4.3 million residents.

Delaware is offering a $300 relief rebate.

The Delaware Relief Rebate Program, established by House Bill 360, will provide $300 in direct payments to each adult resident. The state intends to issue these payments by the end of May, but you must have filed your Delaware resident personal income taxes for 2020 by the deadline.

Colorado offers a rebate of $400 per person.

According to, Colorado residents are eligible for a $400 payment for individual filers and $800 for joint filers. This stimulus payment will benefit approximately 5.8 million residents. It derives from the Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR) amendment, which restricts the amount of revenue Colorado can retain and spend.

New York made available the Excluded Workers Fund.

New York provided funding through the Excluded Workers Fund. This allowed undocumented workers to receive stimulus checks, which was previously impossible. However, the application period has closed, and it is unclear whether the state will offer a comparable program in 2022.


How to Determine Your Eligibility for TurboTax Settlement in Minnesota and Wisconsin

Update on Stimulus: Congress Wants More Direct Payments to Americans as Gas Prices Soar

How Much Does Delaying Filing Affect My Social Security Benefit?

Maine also provides $850 payments.

To combat the effects of high inflation, the state of Maine is providing $850 in relief checks. To qualify, you must file your 2021 tax return by October 31, 2022, as a full-time resident of Maine.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.