During Spring Break, Fort Bend Sheriff’s Deputies Are Looking for College-age Drunk Drivers.

0

COUNTY OF FORT BEND, TEXAS – Spring break has arrived, and so are deputies from the Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office, who are monitoring area highways to prevent unnecessary collisions.

The Sheriff’s Office is teaming with the Texas Department of Transportation to educate Fort Bend residents about the dangers of drinking and driving over spring break.

“Through a statewide impaired driving campaign dubbed Drive Sober – No Regrets, the Texas Department of Transportation and the Sheriff’s Office are focusing on college students and young adults to help prevent deadly crashes and save lives,” the Sheriff’s Office stated.

Sheriff Eric Fagan of Fort Bend County is asking teenage drivers to drive sober and to prioritise safety this spring break and throughout the year.

“It’s always prudent to practise caution on the road, much more so during spring break, when a large number of people are travelling for vacation and enjoyment,” Fagan said. “We’re concerned about everyone’s safety and encourage our young folks to develop a practise of sober driving.”

Texas Crime And Safety

 

“One person dies in a DUI-alcohol-related driving crash in Texas every eight hours and 31 minutes,” the statement stated.

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, over the 2021 spring break, Texas experienced 872 DUI/alcohol-related traffic collisions, resulting in 30 fatalities and 107 serious injuries. During that time period, Sheriff’s deputies in Fort Bend County made 12 DWI arrests, with one crash resulting in a DWI arrest.

Driving while intoxicated does not just apply to alcoholic beverages; it also includes prescription and non-prescription drugs, as well as restricted substances that impair judgement. Financial consequences might be severe if you drive while intoxicated.

It is unlawful in Texas for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol. Anyone who is legally intoxicated may be arrested and prosecuted with DWI, which carries a maximum sentence of 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine, plus attorney expenses and court costs. Additionally, drivers under the influence risk losing their driver’s licence for up to one year. Drivers and passengers may face a fine of up to $500 for possessing an open container of alcohol in their car.

“I constantly say, ‘Say something if you see something.’ If you see a driver acting recklessly or is suspected of drinking and driving, I urge you to contact our office,” Fagan added. “Because we take these violations seriously and are here to help, please do not hesitate to contact us. Your call could potentially save a life.”

 

ALSO READ:-

Thieves From Texas Steal 1,000 Gallons of Diesel Fuel From a Gas Station.

An Ex-Mexican Border Governor Has Been Arrested in Connection With a Write-in Campaign.

The Feds Capture $1.1 Million in Meth at a Texas Border Crossing.

Sheriff Fagan gives the following safety advice to motorists of all ages:

  • Make arrangements for a safe journey home before you drink.
  • If you are inebriated, consider using a ride-sharing service or appointing a designated driver who has not consumed alcohol.
  • Request a sober ride from a friend or family member.
  • When driving, keep an eye out for your own safety and the safety of others. Speak up if you are uncomfortable in a situation.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.